Skip to content

What the what?: Alex Legion edition

December 29, 2009

So Alex Legion is booking on Illini basketball after half a season, and honestly I can’t blame him.

I haven’t been able to find an official reason why Legionis leaving the team but anyone with a little bit of foresight can see why.

Freshman D.J. Richardson, Brandon Paul, and (redshirt) Joseph Bertrand are already having an impact on this team.  High schoolers Tracy Abrams and Jereme Richmond will almost certainly have an immediate imact when they come to Champaign in the future. Where does Alex Legiona and his 3.2 points per game fit in?

Is it a selfish move? Yes. Does Legion appear to have commitment issues? Yes. Could this be a problem if he makes it to the NBA? Yes.

But I understand. Weber has no need for him and he has too much untapped potential to be a pine-rider. To be honest, Illinois is probably better off without him because Weber will no longer feel obligated to give the shooting-anemic, defense-disabled Legion any PT (Bill Cole, your table is ready).

Anyway, I think we all expect Legion to transfer to a small D-I school where he can be “the man”, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Legion crosses the pond to Europe. I doubt he’ll do much over there because he can’t shoot for dick, but I wish him the best.

SIDE BAR: Yes, I came back to blogging one day after retiring. Maybe I’ll keep this site going for a while longer. We’ll see, but don’t expect anything regular. I’m talking to you Ben.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

